What We Do in the Shadows, Psychonauts
02.09.2022

I had some time to rewatch the film What We Do in the Shadows, as well as the entire TV series (I was recovering from top surgery!). This series & film are just so near and dear to my heart. Me and my partner were rewatching the film for the 10th time, and the series for the 2nd time. I adore how so many characters are casually queer without issue, and how much depth each actor gives them. The sincerity with which these comedy (and sometimes dramatic) roles are played feels so incredibly human, for a bunch of vampires.

I also played Psychonauts 2! It's an incredible game, and I was so happy to (spoilers ahead) hear a song from Jack Black in the middle of the game! I feel like I really need to sort out my thoughts before typing something longer on this- it was a dense game full of lots of character development, depth, and fascinating narratives. For now, I'll make a short list of my favorites:

Favorite Old Characters: Raz, Sasha, Loboto
Favorite New Characters: Bob, Sam, Frazie, Hollis, Lizzie, Helmut
Favorite Level: Cassie's Mind Library
Favorite Old Power: Telekinesis
Favorite New Power: Projection (Holy shit, Rikki Simons!)
Special Shoutout To: Ford. Damn dude. (Still love him, but damn!)