All Work and No Play Makes Jack a Dull Boy
02.09.2022

Capitalism makes us all feel like we're never doing enough. We might be in debt, and we might be one lost paycheck away from disaster. We might have some meager savings, or maybe we're doing pretty well, in spite of everything. Regardless, capitalism really gives people the urge to turn every act of rest or play into labor.

I had finished a session of Snare with some buddies, and one of them (who is extremely well-meaning) told me that it would be awesome to turn into a box tabletop game, with instructions, scenarios, and cards to sell. I politely told them that it sounded like lots of work, and that I would just be happy to post it online one day. On another day, someone else expressed that they were SO thankful they weren't recording a 5e D&D session. For the record, no one in that group had ever even discussed recording anything. I asked them to elaborate, and they said that they felt like they weren't ready to post any of their RP online, especially as a video. I went “Well, you never even have to do that if you don't want to? Not ever?”

It turns out, they literally just assumed that it was normal to play a game, and then turn it into a monetized video or podcast series to create another revenue stream. Just, y'know, like normal (???). While Critical Role and The Adventure Zone might have sparked lots of fun actual play shows, the only thing making someone feel like they have to as well is this capitalist hellscape that turns hobbies into jobs. Grind culture makes fools of us all.

After top surgery, I've been spending a bunch of time playing Red Dead Redemption 2. And I really, really love it. I love it so much, that I' planning on making another post all about it. When one of my (well-meaning, of course) friends expressed interest in it, I said we could play the online version together. They expressed doubt and reluctance, stating that they weren't prepared. I asked why. They said it was because they didn't have a narrative prepared, a character in mind, or a plot. I told them that they didn't have to work on a story just to enjoy a video game. We could just goof off and actually PLAY.

I love emergent narrative and new storytelling mediums as much as the next guy (shoutout to Wayneradiotv and Half-life VR: But the AI is Self-aware), and I'm even considering working on something like that with one of my other friends…but. Not everything has to make money. Not everything we pick up has to be monetized. We exist to love, have fun, rest, and help one another.

We all need to re-learn how to just play. We need to learn again how to use our imaginations without the expectation of making a product for people to consume. We need to focus on existing in the moment for the sake of it, and not looking for the next thing to self-improve, make money, or elevate our status. Inevitably, we're going to be forced to do these things anyways for our survival. Making ALL acts in service of this lethal machine is hollow.

The Nap Ministry is one of the few sources of inspiration I can look to that supports this type of thinking. I strongly recommend reading Tricia Hersey's work. There are many important things in life, and none of them are money or consumerism. I already give enough of my time over to my employers, loan services, and landlord.

I'd like to keep some for myself, and enjoy the act of play unfettered.