Lower the Barrier for Creation
02.09.2022

Art is a human act. It's natural to how we exist. Even though not everyone considers themselves an artist, I believe that we are all capable of creating something. Creation is a joyful and satisfying act that has been disrupted by a profit-driven society.

I see too many people who feel like they're not good enough to draw a picture, write a story, or record a video. Artists fret over not having a good enough idea, not having the "right" art tools, or not having the best equipment. Friends of mine don't ever start projects because they feel as if they have to make the next big glossy art book, the next beloved indie game hit, or the next award-winning short film. I know people who worry over possible poor graphic novel reviews they'll get, or which enamel pin manufacturer can produce 10,000 units before they even write down an idea.

Art doesn't have to be polished or for profit. It can be those things, and sometimes it has to be for survival. However, taking every single hobby and trying to make it a full time job because you feel as if you must is exhausting. While we all feel pressure to attempt to succeed in capitalism, more often than not, the arts are not the easiest path for that anyways.

Nor is it healthy. I do art for a living, but my work life and personal life are separate. I monetize the art I need to live, and I allow myself to be messy, free, and imperfect with my personal art. Deprogramming myself has been difficult. But, it's nice to be able to bad at something for once without it threatening my livelihood. Creation for the sake of creation feels beautiful and freeing.

To do this, I've had to lower the barrier significantly. Any medium, any materials, any method. If a ballpoint is what I have, it's what I use. If I don't have the energy to make art with a sketchbook and pen setup, I'll doodle on my phone or a sticky note. Painting can be daunting when it's large, empty canvases. So if I paint, I paint teeny tiny pictures. I skip the first page of every sketchbook to dodge the pressure of making it nice. I throw away pages I don't need anymore. I draw the same things over and over because I like to. I make marks because they're satisfying.

It's about skipping the fake conventions we've been taught for polished art. You don’t need to have a color print book manufacturer in mind to make an art book. You need a pencil, a piece of paper, and the ability to fold it up. Photocopied zines are good for getting your ideas out, and expressing yourself. I've had enough of crowdfunded anthologies and art books masquerading as punk zines.

Being "good" at art isn't important. We don't exist to be skilled, valuable, or useful. We exist to make marks, mold clay, and weave threads. We exist to draw pictures for the love of drawing. We exist to express ourselves, and then share our feelings with others so that we all might feel less alone.

Everyone's voice is worth hearing. You have things worth showing to others. Don't let fancy tools and expensive paper keep you from expressing yourself.

Electric Zine Maker

History of Zines

Queer Zine Archive Project

Things You Need to Make a Zine