I Love Jack Black
02.17.2022

This obsession started in 2018, when I was reintroduced to Tenacious D in the Pick of Destiny (2006). I had watched it in my sophomore year of college, and had a fun time, but hadn't returned to it since then. For some reason, I decided to put it on again. I enjoyed it, and then listened to the album Tenacious D. That's when I fell head completely in love with both Jack Black and Tenacious D.

As a band, Tenacious D just has this manic, ecstatic energy that can't be matched. So many songs are filled with absolute love for rock & roll, metal, and the narratives that Jack Black and Kyle Gass construct for their albums. Their self-titled is a perfect encapsulation of this relationship between the characters of JB and KG. There's arguing, drama, love, and joy. It's all comedy, but so much of it has a sincere core to care about. JB and KG echo the real-life relationship of Jack Black and Kyle Gass, where as a young man, Jack Black would pay Kyle Gass in fast food to teach him guitar. The depth and love within their relationship is palpable in their music. The Pick of Destiny and Rize of the Fenix continue this tradition. While Post-Apocalypto is a departure from the usual narrative of Tenacious D, it's a pure distillation of Jack Black's art, the D's storytelling voice, and sense of humor. It took a while for it to grow on me, but now that it has, I love it.

After I became obsessed with the music, I started to watch the films that Jack Black starred in. I had always been fond of Be Kind Rewind (2008), and was endeared to it once again. My top favorites will always be School of Rock (2003), Tenacious D in the Pick of Destiny (2006), and The Big Year (2011). Jack Black plays characters who are often defined by their enthusiasm, confidence, and tenderness. Some of his roles contain a certain innocence that's delightful, and refreshing. He often embodies the lovable class clown who isn't afraid to look silly, and as a result, is attractive. Jack Black's puckish attitude and seeming comfort in his own skin is sexy, aspirational, and a joy to watch.

I saw Tenacious D in concert in 2019, and I had a wonderful time. I was right up front, and I felt like I really got to feel the energy that the band was pouring into every single song. Every musician up there seemed to be having so much fun, and the energy in the room was awesome. I remember when KG started to play the chords for Kielbasa, JB stayed quiet, and let the audience since the first verse. It was magical. He then cheered for us, clapping at everyone knowing the words before he began the song himself. My partner managed to grab a pick that had been thrown off the stage, and it still sits, framed on my desk today.

I believe that people like Jack Black only come along once in a lifetime. Even though I don't care for celebrity worship, I have to acknowledge that some individuals I don't know will hold a strange parasocial place in my heart. I cherish my own experiences with my friends, growth into my own adulthood, and love of entertainment- some of which has become entangled with the happiness that Jack Black and Tenacious D bring me.

Thanks JB & KG, for creating the greatest band in the world.
---

My Jack Black Ranked Film List

That Viral Sax-A-Boom Clip for you to enjoy