X: More like this, please.
03.24.2022

This is a casual, spoiler-free review 0f the movie X (2022). The only possible spoiler is the mention of one joke included in the script.

I really, truly enjoyed the film X (2022). Many parts of it were love letters to classics like Texas Chainsaw Massacre, and many parts of it felt original and fresh. It spent a lot of time lavishing in the motivations of the slashers, which helped me really get invested in all parts of the story.

I also loved how much time was spent with the main cast. The scenes had room to breathe, and there were numerous character moments that made me love the characters, and feel sad when I had to watch them die. X was shot beautifully, and with economy and purpose. The close-ups served to bring me that much closer to the characters, and make me really feel for them- whether they were the protagonist, or the antagonist.

My only main critique is one of the film's more unnecessary jokes, centering on the character Jackson, played by Kid Cudi. (Because the joke has to do with a racial stereotype, I'll leave that analysis to someone who is black, and therefore can accurately speak on this topic. I am white, and my perspective on this part of the film is limited.)

The use of music in X was brilliant. I think that soundtracks that utilize music with lyrics can be hit or miss, but X used 70s music with clear purpose. Cuts and acting often being timed to the beats helped with this a lot. The score was also amazing- I noticed quickly that some of the sounds in it emulated the breathing and vocalizations of the characters, which was a great touch.

If you go see X, be sure to stay after the credits.