Lows and highs and lows and highs
08.15.2022

I feel like my highs are always paired with incredible lows. I've had a fantastic, but stressful week so far. (And it's only Monday!) I'm attending my Grandmother's funeral later this week, and I'll be encountering relatives who just found out that I'm trans only a month ago. I'm not too worried about anyone being mean to me. (The last time relatives were weird about me being trans, they actually just ignored me. It sucked...but at least I didn't have to argue with anyone.)

On the bright side: I got two job offers that I wanted! I'm thrilled for both of the projects, and I'm so glad I have the flexibility to prioritize the one I really love. The other client is happy to offer me a few hours a week even if I can't committ full time. It's amazing to feel valued this much in my career. I'm honestly over the moon.

The only downside is that I really need to upgrade my home work set-up. I didn't do it earlier because I wasn't sure if I would be working in an office, or finding new work at all. I was also concerned I wouldn't be able to break even with spotty freelance. Now I'm in a race to get a new computer together before I have to work with an old Wacom Bamboo for more than a week. I'll live, it'll just be annoying for my workflow. (I'll still get 'er done...just...ugh. My lack of hotkeys. -_-)

The next bright side: I get a NEW COMPUTER AND A TABLET!!!!! I have the money for it, and it will afford me the flexibility to keep taking animation freelance while working from home. It's a huge investment, but it's going to be worth it when I can keep avoiding long commutes and start working for more clients.

One of my friends is kind enough to help me build my new workstation, so I'm trying to figure out how best to repay them for it. It's a ton of labor to pick out parts, and I'm really glad I don't have to go it alone.